RSS Feed

Honey Walnut Shrimp

Posted on
Honey Walnut Shrimp

Within days of discovering this recipe, I had to try it for myself. I love shrimp, I love honey, I love walnuts. Plus, it’s all naturally gluten-free! I subbed in a couple of ingredients though; I don’t like using mayonnaise as it is filled with polyunsaturated fats. Here’s what I did:

 

Never cooked shrimp before? Not a problem! This recipe is very simple!

Never cooked shrimp before? Not a problem! This recipe is very simple!

Ingredients for the shrimp:

  • 1 pound raw shrimp (peeled and deveined)
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup potato starch
  • Red palm oil (for frying)

Ingredients for the dressing:

  • 1 Tablespoon condensed milk
  • 1 Tablespoon honey
  • 2 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 5 Tablespoon plain greek yogurt
You can make candied walnuts for a quick snack, too!

You can make candied walnuts for a quick snack, too!

Ingredients for the candied walnuts:

  • 1 cup walnut halves
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup sugar

Once the shrimp are cleaned, peeled and deveined, pat them dry with paper towel. In a large bowl or plastic container, beat the egg white (very briefly: no peaks, just bubbles). Add salt and mix the shrimp in. Let marinate 30 minutes.

Making candied walnuts is very simple. In a small saucepan, boil the water. Add sugar and stir until fully dissolved and slightly thickened. Add the walnut halves and lower the heat to medium. Stir until the mixture is caramel colored. Set it to dry on a sheet of parchment paper (try to leave space between the walnuts so they don’t stick).

Red palm oil is the healthiest for deep frying.

Red palm oil is the healthiest for deep frying.

For the dressing, mix all the ingredients together in a small bowl and set aside in the fridge until ready to serve.

When the shrimp have marinated long enough, remove them to a new bowl but leave the extra egg white and liquid behind. Coat them in the potato/tapioca starch mixtures.

Almost there!

Almost there!

In small batches, fry in a deep fryer at 375F for around 3 minutes, until they are perfectly golden.

Let the extra oil drain on a paper towel. Once dry, put the shrimp in a large mixing bowl and add half the dressing. Toss. Add the candied walnuts and more dressing, to taste.

I served mine with steamed brocoli and rice pilaf. It was delicious!

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

One response »

  1. Honey, walnuts and shrimps, yummy, I love them all. Thanks for stopping by and liking my rice. Have a wonderful week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

