RSS Feed

Gluten-free Carrot Muffins

Posted on
Gluten-free Carrot Muffins

Okay… I just have to share this recipe with the world, because it’s the best muffins I’ve ever had. Ever! It’s gluten-free of course, carrot muffins, with icing INSIDE the muffins! I didn’t even know it was possible, so credit to The Delicious Life for educating me. Here’s what you’ll need:

 

Icing inside. Genius! And SO easy.

Ingredients for the batter

  • 1/4 cup potato starch
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup amaranth flour
  • 1/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup chickpea flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon guar gum
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs (3 whites, 2 yolks)
  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cup grated carrots
  • 1/2 cup raisins

Ingredients for the frosting

  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar*
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

* Powdered sugar is made with cornstarch. There are a few brands, like 365 Organic, that make it with tapioca starch instead and that’s what I use.

Preheat oven to 350F.

The recipe is pretty straight forward. Mix all the dry ingredients in a large bowl (potato starch to sugar, on the list). Add three eggs – well… 3 egg whites, 2 egg yolks; keep the extra egg yolk for the icing. Add a stick of melted butter and mix well, until the batter is a perfect consistency.

Add the carrots and the raisins. Note that for the raisins to be perfect, they need to be rehydrated in warm water for ten minutes before mixing them in the batter.

And this is how you put icing inside a muffin.

Pour the batter evenly in a muffin tray. I like using muffin tins; it’s really easy to clean up.

For the frosting, mix all the ingredients in a food processor. Plop about half a Tablespoon of the frosting into the center of the batter for each muffin. The batter will bake over the frosting because of the difference in density. Genius!

Bake about 25 minutes, or until perfectly golden.

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

Leave a Reply

