RSS Feed

Gluten-free Crab Rangoons

Posted on
Gluten-free Crab Rangoons

Whenever I went out for Chinese food, crab rangoons were my favorite treat. I’m not going to lie, I’ve been missing this particular appetizer a lot. But, when I found rice paper in my pantry,  it occurred to me that I might be able to use it to make my own crab rangoons. And guess what, it works. And here’s how! (this recipe makes 20-25)

Rice paper at its best!

Ingredients for the crab rangoons

  • 8 oz soft cream cheese
  • 12 oz cooked crab meat
  • 1 Tablespoon powdered sugar*
  • 1 Tablespoon green onions
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 20-25 sheets of rice paper
  • Red palm oil for frying

*Use powdered sugar with tapioca starch instead of corn starch like the 365 Organic brand sold at Whole Foods.

Ingredients for the sweet and sour sauce

  • 5 oz pineapple juice
  • 2 Tablespoon tomato paste
  • 3 Tablespoon brown sugar
  • 2 Tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoon tapioca starch
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon fish sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon mustard seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

The sauce is very easy to prepare. Just mix all the ingredients together in a saucepan and cook over medium heat until thickened (about 4-5 minutes). Keep it refrigerated in an air tight container until ready to serve.

And now for the crab rangoons. First, mix the filling in a large bowl (cream cheese to minced garlic, on the list). The next few steps go quickly, so make sure you have oil ready for frying. I use red palm oil at 370F.

Take a sheet of rice paper and let it soak in a bath of hot (not boiling) water for 30 seconds. Take it out and remove excess water. Put about a Tablespoon of the crab mixture in the middle of the rice paper.

This will not get folded like a normal crab rangoon. Rice paper is very thin and it’s important that it’s not ever single folded, or it won’t hold the mixture. So, roll the rice paper into a cylinder with the crab mixture in the middle, fold one end over and one end under. That way, it’s folded the thickest way possible.

Fry about 5-7 minutes, but only a few rangoons at a time so they don’t stick. Scoop out and serve with sweet and sour sauce. It tastes pretty close to the crab rangoons we all love. Enjoy your treat!

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

Leave a Reply

