RSS Feed

Miso Salad

Posted on
Miso Salad

I went out to eat at California Pizza Kitchen last week and I had their miso salad. It’s true that I’m extremely opposed to eating soy, but miso is fermented, therefemore not harmful. Plus, I’d never had miso before and I was curious. It turns out, it’s one of the most delicious flavors I’ve ever tasted. When I came home, I looked online for CPK’s miso salad recipe, I tweaked it to suit me, and here it is!

This is my new favorite meal.

Ingredients for the salad

  • 1/2 large Napa cabbage, shredded
  • 1/2 large red cabbage, shredded
  • 1 cucumber, julienned
  • 3 carrots, shredded
  • 1 daikon, shredded
  • 2 cups sweet snap peas, diced
  • 1 bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 2 avocadoes, diced
  • 1/2 pound cooked shrimp
  • 1/2 pound cooked crab meat

Ingredients for the dressing

  • 3 Tablespoon yellow miso paste
  • 1 Tablespoon honey
  • 1/3 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • Salt, pepper, crushed red pepper to taste

Putting this salad together is extremely easy and requires no cooking, so it’s perfect for one of those hot summer nights. Mix all the vegetables together in a large bowl.

For the dressing, mix all the ingredients in a food processor. Adjust seasonings to your liking. I kept the dressing in an air tight container in the fridge and used it when I needed it. Nobody likes a soggy salad.

Add shrimp, crab and dressing to the miso salad. Enjoy a delicious meal!

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

Leave a Reply

