RSS Feed

Gluten-free Apple Pie

Posted on
Gluten-free Apple Pie

Don’t let a lattice crust intimidate you, even if it’s gluten-free!

I like to think of myself as a pie enthusiast. I’ve made so many different kinds of pies in the past few months and yet, I have never tried the good old traditional apple pie. What is wrong with me! Please don’t answer that. Really though, I think it’s because I’m not a big fan of cinnamon. But, just the other day, I found a recipe without cinnamon and I was pretty excited to gluten-free it and try it out.

Ingredients

  • 10 red apples
  • 1 stick butter
  • 3 Tablespoon white rice flour
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • Gluten free double pie crust

The recipe is very easy. First, peel, slice and core the apples. Set them aside in a large mixing bowl. That’s the only time-consuming part. Now, preheat the oven to 425F.

In a saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Stir in the white rice flour, to thicken. Add the water and both types of sugar, stir in well and bring to a boil. Reduce to low heat and let simmer. After two minutes, when the mixture is nice and smooth like caramel, pour it over the apples and mix well.

Place your bottom pie crust in a 9″ pie pan, pour the caramel apples in. With the remaining of the dough, try to make a lattice crust! This was my very first lattice crust and I was pretty unsure of myself. Thankfully, I found this amazing step by step guide on how to make a lattice crust, and it came out pretty good! The only advice I have to add is: remember, you’re working with gluten-free dough, so be very gentle. Also, I actually rolled my dough twice, to make it the perfect temperature and texture and it was very easy to work with.

Before baking, don’t forget the egg wash, so your pie comes out nice and golden.

Bake 15 minutes in the preheated oven, then, turn the temperature down to 350F and bake an extra 40 minutes.

Make sure to let it cool at least 10 minutes before serving! Maybe with a scoop of vanilla ice cream? Enjoy!

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

One response »

  1. Awesome lattice work, especially considering the delicate dough. I’ve never been able to pull it off. I’ll try using these steps and hope for the best… no cinnamon?! no lard?! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

