RSS Feed

Gluten-free Sandwich Wraps

Posted on
Gluten-free Sandwich Wraps

I miss sandwiches. I can still have them of course; I do make gluten-free bread from time to time. But what if I don’t have time to make bread and I crave a delicious turkey melt? Well, there is a very easy and tasty alternative: sandwich wraps. It is a very versatile recipe; you can use wraps for sandwiches, quesadillas, fajitas etc. Here’s what you need (it yields 4 large wraps, so adjust quantities to your needs):

Easy lunch!

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup potato starch
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup chickpea flour
  • 1/4 cup millet flour
  • 2 Tbsp melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup water

Mix all the dry ingredients together.

Stir in the melted butter and egg. Slowly add water and mix well. Make sure there is no lump and that the mixture is smooth.

10 minute sandwich alternative!

Next, just cook them like you would pancakes. Put about a teaspoon of butter in a large pan on medium heat, add a quarter of the mixture and cook until it doesn’t stick. Flip it and cook the other side.

And that’s it. For my sandwich wraps, I used: cheddar cheese, bacon, ham, lettuce, tomatoes and sour cream. I rolled them up and cut them in cute little bite size. How will you eat them?

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

3 responses »

  1. Hey Naelle,
    I just happened to stumble upon your recipe searching for a relatively easy gluten free millet bread recipe (failed twice now ahh…) but I do make gluten free tortilla’s and I love your variation for a gluten free wrap. Last week I bought my first gluten free brown rice tortilla to make the process more convenient and it was completing disappointing to say the least. I miss wraps and I am so excited how easy your recipe is and I am definitely going to try it, thanks!
    Heather 🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Heather! I’m glad you like it! To make it easier, you can also use 1 and 3/4 cup of any gluten free flour mixes that you like. As for millet bread, I’ve never had it before. I use millet flour for my bread, but definitely not exclusively. Good luck with your 3rd batch!

      Reply
      • Naelle I finally made them today! I adjusted them slightly and made them with a chia egg and they turned out great! They are so pliable, thanks for the great recipe, I will be doing a post on them soon and will link your original!

Leave a Reply

