RSS Feed

Roasted Chicken

Posted on
Roasted Chicken

I’ve never been a huge fan of chicken; it feels too… dry and bland to me. But there is one thing I have always enjoyed about chicken… and it’s skin! It’s tasty and crispy when done right. I found a roasted chicken recipe that I really enjoy and here is my version. It’s actually very simple, already gluten-free and it looks very fancy!

This is my kind of meal. Not a lot of work and fantastic results!

 

Ingredients 

  • 1 whole chicken (3lbs or so)
  • 1 stick butter
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 large onion
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • 3 carrots
  • 3 potatoes
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • Bunch of fresh cilantro
  • 1 small red onion
  • 2 Tablespoon lime juice

Preheat the oven to 400F.

The first step is to slice the potatoes, sweet potatoes, onion and carrots and put them in a large mixing bowl (the garlic too, but I don’t slice it; it tastes way sweeter whole!) I like to keep it simple, so I only season with salt and pepper. Mix 3 Tablespoon of melted butter with the vegetables and place them on a roasting pan lined with aluminum foil.

Now, to prepare the chicken. First, I hear it’s a good idea to thoroughly wash it. It’s important to dry it very well though, so that the skin becomes crispy, not soggy. When that’s done, take 2 Tablespoon of soft butter and rub it on the chicken. Cover everything in butter! That’s what makes it nice and crispy. Then, season the skin generously with salt and pepper and place the chicken on top of the vegetables in the roasting pan.

For the stuffing, dice a small red onion and stuff in the inside cavity. Add the cilantro bunch and the lime juice. And you’re almost done!

Bake in the preheated oven for about an hour. Actually, the standard for roasted chicken seems to be: 45 minutes, plus an additional 7 minutes per pound of chicken.

You should have 3 Tablespoon of butter left. Check the oven regularly and baste the chicken with the leftover melted butter every 15 minute or so. I promise, it’s worth it.

After one hour, or a little longer if you want the skin to be extra golden and crispy, take the chicken out of the oven and let it cool for 10 minutes before carving and serving. Enjoy your meal! (I knew butter made everything better!)

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

Leave a Reply

