RSS Feed

Gluten-Free Thin Mint Cookies

Posted on
Gluten-Free Thin Mint Cookies

Guess what I made this weekend? Girl scout cookies! My favorite flavor too: thin mint, of course. And wow, those cookies were delicious. I stumbled across an amazing recipe just the other day and I had to try it for myself. Here is my experience with it:

Mint and chocolate goodness. What’s not to love?

Ingredients

  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar*
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup amaranth flour
  • 2 cup chocolate chips*
  • 1 teaspoon mint extract

*I put an asterisk next to some ingredients, because the kind you get determines how healthy this recipe is! I use Organic 365 powdered sugar because it’s made with tapioca starch instead of corn starch. I use Nestlé’s Dark Chocolate Morsels for chocolate chips, because they are soy free.

It doesn’t look like much, but once rolled out, you’ll get lots of cookies!

The first step is to make the dough. It’s pretty easy. Start by creaming the butter in a large bowl. Slowly add sugar and mix well. Next, add the cocoa powder, salt, starches and flour. It’s going to get pretty thick. I finished mixing mine with my hands, just like kneading dough. Wrap it up in floured (white rice flour is what I use for sprinkling and rolling) wax paper and stick it in the freezer for 10 minutes.

The dough is a lot easier to work with than I expected.

Next, preheat the oven to 350F. Place parchment paper on a cookie sheet and set aside. On a clean work surface, sprinkle white rice flour and start flattening the dough with a rolling pin to about 1/8 inch. Using a cookie cutter, get as many cookies as you can! You’ll have to reroll the dough a few times. No wasting allowed!

Bake in the oven for 7 to 8 minutes.

Note that if you don’t have more than one cookie sheet, you will have to do 2 or 3 batches.

Also, when the cookies come out of the oven, let them cool for a good 15 minutes. They fall apart when hot, but hold together surprisingly well when cold.

The next step was a real pain in the butt for me, until I watched this awesome video on how to temper chocolate. Basically, just heat your chocolate in the microwave, 20 seconds at a time, stirring and dispering  heat equally. I only needed 40 seconds total to get a perfectly smooth texture. Don’t forget to add a teaspoon of mint extract.

Be patient!

Next, drop the cookies in the chocolate and spoon away the excess. Place them on a sheet of wax paper to dry. Keep them at least 5 minutes at room temperature, so the chocolate sets with minimum humidity.

When you’re all done, peel the cookies from the wax paper and store in an air tight container. I kept mine in the freezer. Not that I needed to, I ate them all in 3 days. Shhh!

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Gluten-free Tagalong Cookies « glutenfreequest

Leave a Reply

