RSS Feed

Gluten-free Pound Cake

Posted on
Gluten-free Pound Cake

Pound cake is one of my favorite breakfasts. It’s simple, light and fluffy, tastes great and it goes well with almost everything. It’s a very basic recipe with simple ingredients and everyone can find their own way to enjoy it. This week was my very first time baking pound cake and I used Paula Deen’s recipe as a guide. I made a few changes but mostly, I gluten-freed it. Here’s what you need.

I love pound cake with powdered sugar and honey.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup potato starch
  • 1/2 cup tapioca starch
  • 2/3 cup brown rice flour
  • 2/3 cup amaranth flour
  • 1/3 cup millet flour
  • 1/3 cup chickpea flour
  • 1 teaspoon guar gum
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 3 sticks butter, softened
  • 3 cup sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350F.

It’s a pretty simple recipe to follow. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl (potato starch to cream of tartar on the ingredient list) and put aside until later.

In another large mixing bowl, cream the butter and slowly add sugar. Add eggs one at a time and mix after each addition.

Then, slowly start adding the dry ingredients to the cream mixture, alternating with milk. When the batter has been all mixed together and looks pretty and fluffy, stir in the vanilla.

Mix, combine and pour: easy!

I believe pound cakes are usually baked in tube pans, but I didn’t have one of those. So I used two round baking pans, which I greased with butter, before pouring the cake mix in.

And here it is, out of the pan after I let it cool.

Bake for about 40 minutes, or until it is ready (when you can insert a toothpick in the middle and have it come out clean).

Before trying to take it out of the pan, let it cool for 15-20 minutes. Then, just put a plate on top of the cake pan and flip it. If your dish was well greased, it won’t stick.

I cut mine up in many smaller slices and stored it right away in a tupperware. It lasted all week.

This is a great, very basic recipe and the next time I make it, I think I’ll be more creative. It would be delicious with pineapple slices in there, or a little bit of orange juice in the batter. What would you add to yours?

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

4 responses »

  1. Coucou c est moi encore c est quoi la quantite de tree stick of butter

    Reply
    • 1 barre de beurre = 1/4 de livre = 1/2 tasse, donc 3 barres de beurre, c’est 1.5 tasse.
      1 stick butter = 1/4 pound = 1/2 cup, so 3 sticks butter would be 1.5 cup.

      Reply
  2. Est-ce-que tu pense qu on pourrait mettre des oranges bouillies avec le zeste, afin d en faire un sirop plus un genre de marmelade il va falloir que je trouve mon point d interrogation!!!! Mon clavier est anglophone mais pas moi!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

