RSS Feed

Tzatziki Sauce (Cucumber Yogurt Dip)

Posted on
Tzatziki Sauce (Cucumber Yogurt Dip)

Tzatziki sauce is one of my favorite dipping sauces in the world, probably because I enjoy greek flavors so much. I love it with lamb and falafels. Even a snack of raw vegetables will become a treat! The ingredients are simple, whole, healthy and naturally gluten-free, so it makes it easy to prepare and enjoy. I used this recipe as a general guide.

 

Don't worry, it's easier to make than to pronnounce!

Don’t worry, it’s easier to make than to pronnounce!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 cucumbers, peeled, seeded and diced
  • 3 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon white pepper
  • 2 teaspoon chopped fresh dill

The recipe very straight forward, but it’s important to note that it tastes better after at least two hours in the fridge. So just make it ahead of time.

In a small bowl, combine the olive oil, vinegar, salt, white pepper and garlic. Mix until well combined.

In a different mixing bowl, blend the sour cream and yogurt with a whisk. Add the olive oil mixture and mix well.

For the last step, add the chopped cucumber and fresh dill. Cover and chill for two hours before serving. Enjoy!

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Gluten-Free Falafels « glutenfreequest

  2. I need to try and make this. Honestly, I’ve only had tzatziki once but my husband LOVES Greek food. He would be overjoyed if I added this to my repertoire.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

