RSS Feed

Substitute soy sauce

Posted on
Substitute soy sauce

Some of us gave up soy for health reasons. It was pretty easy for me; I don’t like tofu and fake milk. But… I do love soy sauce. Well guess what? You can make your own soyless soy sauce. Sure, it won’t taste exactly the same, but it’s pretty close. This recipe requires only 7 ingredients and the result is sweet and salty with the same color and texture as soy sauce, except it’s healthy!

See, it looks very similar!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup beef broth
  • Pinch of garlic powder
  • Pinch of ground ginger
  • Pinch of white pepper
  • 3 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1.5 teaspoon dark molasses
  • 1.5 teaspoon fish sauce

The recipe is very easy. Pour all the ingredients in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 15 minutes. Some of the liquids will evaporate, so the recipe yields a little less than a cup.

Everytime I make it, I pour it in an empty container or tupperware and store it in the fridge. I only make a little bit at a time, because I really don’t eat all that much soy sauce, but it’s nice to have the option of having it if I want it.

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Goodbye Soy « glutenfreequest

  2. Pingback: Shrimp Spring Rolls « glutenfreequest

Leave a Reply

