RSS Feed

Beef pot pie, easy and delicious

Posted on
Beef pot pie, easy and delicious

I love pies. I really do! And trust me, when you add meat and gravy to a pie, it takes it to a whole new level. I’ve made beef pot pies a few times now, but the one I made just a few days ago was top-notch. I think I found the perfect ratio of meat to gravy to potatoes, for my taste. I found inspiration looking at this recipe, which I gluten-freed and tweaked the quantities a little bit. Here is my version:

Hmmm! Look at the yummy gravy at the bottom!

Ingredients

  • 0.75 lb sirloin steak
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 Tablespoon butter
  • 15 ounces beef broth
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 medium potatoes
  • 1 cup canned green peas
  • 3 Tablespoon tapioca starch
  • 1/3 cup water
  • Gluten free double pie crust

This recipe is very easy, but the meat needs to simmer for about two hours, so plan your time accordingly.

The meat doesn't have to be perfectly cubed, small bite pieces work great.

The meat doesn’t have to be perfectly cubed, small bite pieces work great.

First, prep the meat. Tenderize it and generously season it on both sides with salt and pepper. Then, cut it in small-sized cubes.

Check the meat frequently to make sure all the water doesn't evaporate.

Check the meat frequently to make sure all the water doesn’t evaporate.

Get a saucepan out, melt butter over medium heat and brown the pieces of meat on all sides. Pour water in the saucepan, enough to cover the meat, bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat and let simmer for about two hours. Keep an eye on the saucepan to make sure not all the water evaporates, and pour a little more in if necessary.

After an hour and a half or so, get the carrots and potatoes out and cube them. Boil them for 20 minutes; until they are tender, but not mashed. When the meat, carrots and potatoes are done, it’s time to preheat the oven, to 350F and also, to start on the gravy.

Pour the beef broth (and also any leftover liquid from simmering the meat) in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Dissolve the tapioca starch in 1/3 cup water and add to the beef broth, stirring constantly.

Add any extra seasonings you would like for flavor: I love pepper and salt. Bring to a simmer and reduce heat. Cook for 5 minutes.

What’s not to love?

In a large mixing bowl, mix the carrots, potatoes, meat and peas. When the gravy is ready, pour about half of it in and mix well.

Line a pie shell with a bottom pie crust and pour the mixture inside. Pour the remaining gravy on top. It’s important to not overfill the pie, so depending on the size of the carrots and potatoes you used, you may need to pour less in. Cover with the top pie crust and brush it with egg wash to make sure it comes out nice and golden.

Bake in the oven for 25 minutes and let it cool 5 minutes before serving. Enjoy the best gluten-free dinner ever!

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

Leave a Reply

