RSS Feed

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

Posted on
Gluten-Free Banana Bread

I love the smell of banana bread in the oven. It makes the whole house smell like… well, like home. Banana bread is one of my favorite things to bake. It’s easy, I always have the ingredients on hand and it makes for a very nutritious and filling breakfast. Hmm, warm banana bread, with a little honey or powdered sugar and a tall glass of milk; there’s no other way to start the day!

Here’s a small slice of banana bread, right out of the oven!

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 5 Tablespoon butter, melted
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup potato starch
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup chickpea flour
  • 1/4 cup millet flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 Tablespoon heavy cream, whipped
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/2 teaspoon guar gum
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350F.

The first thing to do is to mash the peeled bananas together in a large mixing bowl. I buy a lot of bananas every week when I go grocery shopping. Some I use as a snack, some for breakfast smoothies and when the rest starts to turn black, I just toss them in the freezer until I make banana bread. So if you use frozen bananas too, give them a while to thaw.

I ran out of eggs once when trying to make this recipe and I used whipped cream instead. I loved how it turned out so now I always use it when I make banana bread.

Add  the melted butter and vanilla to the mashed bananas and mix well. Add the sugar gradually while stirring. Add the beaten egg and heavy cream.

In a separate bowl, mix all the starches and flour. Add a pinch of salt. Gradually pour the dry ingredients into the banana mixture while stirring constantly. You may want to use a spatula to scrape the side of the bowl.

Pour the baking soda on top of the mixture and add the lemon juice to it. Let it fizzle and fold it in the batter. This will make the bread more airy.

Next, add the walnuts. I always add them to banana bread because they are a good source of Omega-3s. Now, pour the batter in a greased (with butter) bread pan.

When I made banana bread in the past, I found that my biggest  problem was that the center never baked well. Sure, it’s not bad if I leave it an hour in the oven, but then the sides and top are kind of burnt. So, I decided to try baking it with a piece of aluminum covering the bread pan so it would trap more heat and the inside would bake evenly. It worked!

The top is not burnt, just perfectly golden and the middle isn’t runny like pudding.

So, cover your bread pan with a piece of aluminum foil and bake it in the oven for 40 minutes. Take it out, remove the aluminum, poke a few holes in the middle and put the bread pan back in the oven and bake, uncovered, for 20 minutes. It should come out perfect.

This recipe barely takes 10 minutes to put together and you’ll have super tasty and healthy breakfasts for the week. Enjoy!

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

Leave a Reply

