RSS Feed

Salmon Pie: a traditional Quebec meal

Posted on
Salmon Pie: a traditional Quebec meal

I’ve been making a lot of dishes from my childhood recently, but this one is definitely my favorite. Salmon pie is the most delicious, inexpensive and comforting way I know to get a good dose of Omega 3s in my belly. Every bite tastes just like home. It was served at every family reunion and of course, grandma would always make enough to feed an army and there would be plenty of leftovers for everyone to take home.

I, of course, never learned my family’s recipe for salmon pie, so I had to come up with my own. I used this salmon and potato pie for inspiration because I did not know where to start, but I drastically changed the quantities to make it taste more like what I was used to as a child. Less potatoes and more salmon!

A slice of home!

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium/small potatoes
  • 1 big can of salmon (15oz)
  • 1 small onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 Tablespoon butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 Tablespoon salt
  • Gluten free double pie crust

The first step is to boil the potatoes. I don’t peel them because I like keeping as many nutrients as possible, but if you don’t like the skin, you can certainly peel it off.

The filling is ready to be put in a pie.

The filling is ready to be put in a pie.

 

While the potatoes are cooking (it takes about half an hour until they are very soft), mince the garlic and chop the onion. Sauté them in a pan until they are translucent. Open the can of salmon and drain the juices. Don’t be too picky, a little juice leftover adds more taste, without turning into soup.

Preheat the oven to 375F.

Once the potatoes are ready, transfer them to a large mixing bowl and mash them. Add butter and milk, just as if you were making mashed potatoes. Add the onion and garlic, then the salmon and mash everything together some more. Add salt, pepper and thyme and mix until well combined.

Don’t overfill the pie!

Now, using a spatula, pour the filling into the crust. Even out all the little bumps and cover with the second half of the pie crust. Don’t forget to brush egg wash on the crust to make it turn nice and golden. Bake the pie in the oven for 35 minutes. Let it cool off a few minutes and serve with a fresh green salad.

I’m very satisfied with the taste of this recipe. I think grandma would be proud!

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

2 responses »

  1. That pie looks incredible, do you serve it with anything else besides a salad? If you were going to pick some additional side dishes to go with it what would you pick? keep up the good work and keep the recipes coming i love them : )

    Reply
    • Hmm good question! I look at it this way: I already have fish, potatoes and grains. I’m missing veggies. My salad looks a bit scarce on the picture, I was out of everything except lettuce. Tomatoes and cucumbers in there would be delicious too. I also remember eating it with a side of pickled beets as a child. I’m sure green beans would work great too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

