RSS Feed

The perfect gluten free pizza crust

Posted on
The perfect gluten free pizza crust

“Hmmm, pizza!” I think all of us gluten-free folks have craved, at one point or another, a delicious, doughy and tasty pizza crust. Well you know what? I found a way to satisfy that craving and I eat pizza at least once a month now! It all started when I found this recipe this summer. I’ve made it many times since then, and I’ve tweaked it and adapted it to my liking.

The end result. Yum!

The end result. Yum!

Dry Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/2 cup potato starch
  • 1/3 cup millet flour
  • 1/3 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/3 cup chickpea flour
  • 1.5 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon guar gum
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1.5 teaspoon brown sugar

Mix all the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.

The dough will be like batter. No fancy stretching and spinning around!

The dough will be like batter. No fancy stretching and spinning around!

Wet Ingredients

  • 2 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon rice vinegar
  • 1 egg white (save the yolk for later)
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice

Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the olive oil, rice vinegar and egg white. Mix in the dough, then add water. Mix some more.

Sprinkle the baking soda on top and add the lemon juice. Let it bubble and fizzle for a moment, then fold it in the dough. This is what I use instead of yeast to make the dough rise. By the way, the dough is not going to feel like regular pizza dough. Don’t worry, it’s supposed to be sticky. It should feel like wet Play-Doh. Oh, don’t forget to preheat your oven to 200F.

Take a spatula and dump the dough on a greased (use butter) 12-inch pizza pan. Get a glass of water because your hands need to be constantly wet to spread the dough on the pan.

Keep your hands wet or the dough will stick. Spread it evenly on the pan.

Now, it’s time to let it rise. So stick it in the oven (again, 200F) for 15 minutes. While it rises, take the egg yolk that wasn’t used earlier and mix it with a tablespoon or so of olive oil. You can put any spices you like in the mix. I use a little salt, thyme and red pepper flakes.

After 15 minutes, brush the wash mixture on top of the dough. It will give it a nice color and taste when it bakes. Put the pizza back in the oven, on 400F, for 10 minutes. Do not over cook.

Here’s what the crust looks like after rising and after cooking.

Tada! All done! Now just put some sauce, cheese and toppings on there, broil it for 5 minutes and enjoy your hard work, like so:

Nomnomnom!

About Naelle

I'm very passionate about nutrition and health. I don't have an education in this field, but I try to keep myself informed as much as possible. I stopped eating gluten two years ago, which led me to become very interested in cooking, so that I could keep eating well on my budget. I like to experiment and find ways to make my time in the kitchen as much fun, cost effective, healthy and tasty as possible.

4 responses »

  1. I absolutely LOVE making my own pizzas at home. The only problem I have is buying pre made pizza crust! It drives me crazy that they aren’t the best nutritional choice, but with THIS recipe I can feel so much better now!
    Thanks for sharing
    –bB
    http://www.itsybitysbrianna.wordpress.com

    Reply
  2. Used this to make garlic bread to go with a nice italian dinner, turned out incredible, please keep the good stuff coming

    Reply

Leave a Reply

